Thank you for the music, and …

I just love that the boys always thank us for loving them. The second Japan indie album is titled 392, which means “Thank You 2” (similar pronunciations of the numbers ‘3’ and ‘9’ in Japanese and the English words ‘thank you’.

The official release date is Sep 1 but it’s actually available in the stores on Aug 31. The Oricon daily album chart ranking dated Aug 31 is as follows.

In case you are curious about no.2. I’m With You by Red Hot Chilli Peppers. You may think no.3 isn’t a big deal and the numbers aren’t that impressive. But it’s a big step forward if you know the first album was nowhere to be seen on the chart. Will it go up or down? I don’t want to think too much.

My copy has arrived.🙂

Even I have listened to all sorts of ‘previews’ out there, I really want to listen to the ‘real thing’ seriously. I’ve been hooked by ‘Man in front of the Mirror’ since the teaser was out. I didn’t even know it’s Yonghwa’s work. To me, the essence of this song is the words. The music? There’s no this ‘wow factor’ like Yonghwa’s other compositions, to be honest. I actually read negative comments about the music. Except having some piano lessons and guitar lessons when I was small and not failing in Music in school, I can’t say I know music at all and I dare not do any analysis. I do think ‘Illusion’ and ‘Coward’ are more sophisticated works.

I have talked enough about the lyrics of ‘Man in front of the Mirror’. I’ve been trying to understand the lyrics of ‘Coward’. Thanks to kof1_ who translated them into Chinese, I’m able to ponder on the message of it. The person behind the song sounds so confused and frustrated to me.

Want to live my life the way I want to.
So I have to destroy it.
I just want to be free. Why does it mean I have to live more seriously?
Why do I need to get used to being passionate? Even if it means I’ll be a very different person.
Nobody cares anyway, my being conscious of living my days.
I’ll decide what I want next. Wouldn’t it be great if I can erase everything and start all over again?
I should be able to be free, even though I’ll be all by myself
Nobody cares anyway, me trapped in this fixed frame.
I’ll try to fit in.
The one who’s tried so hard isn’t me. Would’t it be great if I can erase everything and start all over again?
I should be able to be free. I want to be honest.
I just want to be alone, being conscious of living my days.
I’ll decide what I want next. Would’t it be great if I can erase everything and start all over again?
I should be able to be free, if I start all over again.

Please don’t take the above indirect translation seriously. It’s strange of me. I can read Chinese but I usually translate Chinese words into (broken) English in my head to think about them.

‘Illusion’. Flooding emotions of being lost in love.

I refuse to say which new song is better. I can only tell you I like ‘Man in front of the Mirror’ most. Just because I like everything by Yonghwa? Maybe. I can’t analyze myself. I really love to think that Yonghwa wrote a song about his hectic life, ranting about being have to “hurry hurry up”, longing for sweet holidays, dreaming of street lights and hot nights, but asking himself to slow down and laugh out loud in front of the mirror. Good advice to everybody who feels at loss at times. I have no problem with the music. Something different that Yonghwa’s tried. I don’t think it’s because he’s too busy to make ‘better music’. Whether a particular composition ‘wows’ is actually a very subjective thing. I even think he didn’t mean to ‘wow’ anybody writing the music. I ain’t making sense?

I can see my thoughts going into a dangerous zone. For I just visited soompi CNBLUE thread and read people say Yonghwa fans and Jonghyun fans fighting … Really? One of the main reasons I like ‘watching’ the CNBLUE boys so much is that they have this real bonding as a team. I’ve translated many interview articles and videos (thanks to Taiwanese media that are so interested about them). Seeing them working hard together, helping each other, loving each other and chasing their dreams together, the world just looks like a more beautiful place. I can’t say for others. Though I like/love Yonghwa most (are there really fans out there who like/love the four equally?), there isn’t one second when I think I wish any other of the three be not there to block my seeing him shine. I enjoy seeing the shining moments of the other three too. I find it strange sometimes. These four boys are so different in terms of personhood, but they can compliment each other so well. And when they shine together, the light is particularly attractive.

Should stop being sentimental. Talk about the design. I love the grunch feel of the pics. Don’t know if the coming albums/singles version A, B, C, D from Warner Music Japan will be of any interesting design. The last indie album. Something to treasure!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Scans zipped

Continuing the post title … thank you for living your dreams.

15 thoughts on “Thank you for the music, and …

  1. hi..first to comment.. i think i started the fanwar issue in the soompi.. hurm, how should i say this.. i’ve read some comment in youtube regarding the issue and i really dont like it. yes, i like yonghwa a lot more than the other so i really dont like it if fans comparing him with his members. that is why i asked for some respect even if we got our own opinion. i really dont want this issue to be brought up again. it hurts enough to read negative comment about him since cnblue debut day. other members dont really get bashed as much as he is..so i feel a bit sorry for him. that is why the issue kind of sensitive to me. so i hope we, boice.. stay as one even if we got different bias in the group. and try not to bash the other members in cnblue..

    and yes, like you said, their teamwork is the best. i think so too.. that is why i like them being together. i can feel the family bonding between them. i think that is what makes me loves them more and more.

    about the three new songs.. i like them all. each of them give different kind of feeling though i dont really understand ‘coward’ lyrics. it is about rebellion? but i like the beat. man in front of the mirror on the other hand, it was like encouragement song to me. it might not be the best from yonghwa but i like it a lot. i can feel ‘him’ in the song.. hehe

    okay, **phewww** i think i’ll get A’s in my essay if i can write like this in my exam! hahaha.. sorry for my rambling.. just my thought..

  2. That’s so true….last indie album. We should all treasure it. It’s a big milestone for them. Can’t wait for my copy to arrive.

    Klaritia, I want to thank you for reminding me that being #3 on the Oricon chart is a big deal for our boys. I had forgotten (for a moment) about their humble beginings, when their 1st Japan album did not chart at all. From not charting for their 1st album to being #3 on the Oricon chart is a big deal indeed. The boys have been doing so well since their debut that I keep expecting them to reach higher and higher. I expected them to be #1. I’m such a bad fan😦 I should take Yong’s advice myself. I have to slow down my own expectations of them. Afterall, they’ve already achieved so much in such a short time.

    MIFOTM is my favourite out of the 3 new songs, not because I’m Yong bias. I just like Yong’s style of music more. Jonghyun’s style is more mellow – not that I dislike, but I prefer upbeat songs to slow ballads. Even in my life outside of CNBLUE, I prefer Bon Jovi to Eric Clapton, though I like both. *grins*.

    Not going to discuss abt this Yonghwa Jonghyun fans fighting. If they fight, I don’t think they can call themselves BOICE. End of story.

    • Oh, btw. My take on Coward’s lyrics. I don’t think he’s confused. I think whoever ‘he’ is, he feels trapped. Maybe he’s conforming to society’s expectation of him but deep down inside, he wants to run away and start again. Maybe he’s put in a situation he doesn’t like but can’t voice out.
      Haha……did I tell you that one of my hobbies is to dechiper lyrics? I do this to my Coldplay, Bon Jovi, Greenday songs. Almost all songs I listen to actually, be it English, Chinese or Korean (with translations)😛

  3. hello klaritia! ^^ very happy they get on Oricon chart! A big big big things to us ! Maybe others dont know but Boice know them the best. But, why you said it will be their last indie album?

    • All their Japanese releases up till this one were released under an ‘independent record label’ (reads: small company). They have signed Warner Music Japan. Actually they went to Japan on Aug 31 to prepare for the associated press conference scheduled for Sep 1 and MV filming for the next release, but was denied access due to some visa issue. Everything has to be postponed.

  4. I. Man in front of the mirror.

    Like many others, I like the song lyrically, not musically. klaritia knows why.

    Here’s the thing though, as much as I like/love him and try to defend him anywhere possible, I have to admit that Yonghwa’s too young to compose melodies that can touch souls and move hearts. Yet, he can still manage to do that once in awhile (Because I miss you is an example), so what’s else do we want from a 22 year old with a killing schedule that he has endure no matter what?

    Ahem, back to the song, tbh, everytime his English songs come out, I get a feeling that he greedily wants to create the kind of music which everyone can listen to and at the same time, conveys his inner self through it. By using simple but comprehensible words, he hopes to deliver messages to us, be it stories about love, or remedies for life. I can understand him, his music, and his heart. Question is, can you?

    II. The invisible war.

    I guess the ones that say no to my question would compare his work with Jonghyun’s, or everyone else’s for that matter, because they clearly don’t understand why Yonghwa composes in the first place.

    Having said that, I’m not musically illiterate or lyrically ignorant to negate Jonghyun’s sophistication when it comes to making music. Take a look at Lie for example, or Coward. He presents a more profound level of understanding about the world around him and the pains that life offers, while Yonghwa is just a guy with too much works, and hence, dare I say, is forced to grow up to deal with difficulties that his current life and work entail. I really hope he’s preparing himself by now.

    Despite all of the hectic schedules and the negative criticism people have thrown at him, Yonghwa is still a very cheerful and positive individual, someone who doesn’t show sign of being skeptical in attitude, someone who can still pull off a smile at the end of the day.

    It makes me wonder if Yonghwa could ever be depressed. And if he ever is, I have a few words for him. “Yonghwa-ah, when that time comes, remember this, being yourself is already a remedy.”

    I hope I’m not making any war.

    Peace. Love. And Yonghwa.

    c.

    • Thank you for “describing Yonghwa”, for you speak my mind. (I shouldn’t be surprised that we think alike?)

      I need to correct you (hate me!). The lyrics of “Coward” are Japanese. Written by CUL, not Jonghyun. I don’t know how the collaboration works. Did the lyrics writer try to convey Jonghyun’s message?

      *waves* You gone yet?

      • Why am I glad that Jonghyun didn’t write the lyrics for Coward? Then, can you do me a favor? Can you delete part III for me?😄

        I posted at 5.00AM and went to bed right after that. Forgive me if I didn’t wait for your reply.

        Next time I’ll wait. Yeah?

      • I’m only curious. What did ppl say exactly about JH and YH? I backtracked on soompi but couldn’t see it. Meh, I’m just lazy.

      • azimwma ‘reported’ some negative vibe out there. Other soompiers said they feel bad too, hoping people should stop saying those things … She actually commented here about that. The youtube comments. I didn’t go check. Don’t want to. I don’t even read comments under my own youtube videos.

        Good night.

      • i see. i’ve read the comment here, guess it’s already enough eh?

        you sure sleep early. lol.

        nighty night.

        c.

  5. @klaritia :”Seeing them working hard together, helping each other, loving each other and chasing their dreams together, the world just looks like a more beautiful place. I can’t say for others. Though I like/love Yonghwa most (are there really fans out there who like/love the four equally?), there isn’t one second when I think I wish any other of the three be not there to block my seeing him shine. I enjoy seeing the shining moments of the other three too.” can not agree more. hoping that they will always support and respect each other.

Leave a Reply

