She chooses

The Korea title of the drama actually means Mirae’s Choice, and it so lives to it’s name that Mirae seems to be choosing between Kim Shin and Seju every episode. Its open ending drives many watchers crazy and there are different interpretations. Maybe it’s the writer’s intention to let us see what we want to see or people just have a way to see what they want to see.

As a Yonghwa fan who watches the drama only because of Seju, I want Mirae to choose Seju, on the condition that she really loves him (Seju loves Mirae a lot according to the drama). Three years should have been enough for her to confirm her feelings. Three years should have been enough for Seju to forget about Mirae, if she isn’t that someone he absolutely needs.

It would be the best if what happens to her is something like the lyrics of the following song.

I Choose You
Let the bough break, let it come down crashing
Let the sun fade out to a dark sky
I can’t say I’d even notice it was absent
Cause I could live by the light in your eyes
I’ll unfold before you
Would have strung together
The very first words
Of a lifelong love letter
Tell the world that we finally got it all right
I choose you
I will become yours and you will become mine
I choose you
I choose you
(Yeah) There was a time when I would have believed them
If they told me you could not come true
Just love’s illusion
But then you found me and everything changed
And I believe in something again
My whole heart
Will be yours forever
This is a beautiful start
To a lifelong love letter
Tell the world that we finally got it all right
I choose you
I will become yours and you will become mine
I choose you
I choose you
We are not perfect
We’ll learn from our mistakes
And as long as it takes
I will prove my love to you
I am not scared of the elements
I am under-prepared, but I am willing
And even better
I get to be the other half of you
Tell the world that we finally got it all right
I choose you
I will become yours and you will become mine
I choose you
I choose you
I choose you

I could never analyze dramas that Yonghwa was in (I don’t analyze dramas anyway); I watch as if his characters are real. So I want a better future for Seju, when the drama is supposed to mean how the protagonist takes her future self’s advice and makes herself a better future. Do you notice how Seju never cares about what will happen in the future? Among the four leads, all the other three are very affected by what they know from old Mirae about their supposed futures. They try to “fix things” or are very disturbed about the information. Of course Seju is affected (in terms of his supposed future), but he lives his every day not believing his future should have happened along a certain path or would have happened in a particular way if he does something or doesn’t do something. Don’t think I can say goodbye to Seju, just as I couldn’t with Shinwoo and Lee Shin.

I end this post with a slideshow of press release Seju stills, shared by Nicole谷. 117 pics! That’s gonna make myself (and you) miss Park Seju even more?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “She chooses

  1. Please count me who admire how Sejoo lives his life: laugh, cry, dare to fail and ready to be hurt sometimes. There is no other life but this. He takes every moment, gives control wheel to no one and leaves future as most beautiful mode: hope. By doing so, he does best preparation for future actually. I’m so happy to see him coming back brighter and stronger in the end. He is choices maker, drama messenger (with Yongkyung, maybe) no matter what drama’s tittle is. I believe in any choice he does make. And I…was spending last Mon, Tue time to review Sejoo’s capture as if I were continued watching MHIYD. I miss him🙂
    Thank you for sharing your feeling and give me chance to share mine🙂

Leave a Reply

